And then we pierced her ears…

One of the(many!) things that bother most Mama’s who have a daughter is whether or not to have her ears pierced. There are many views on this – for some it is tradition, for some it is forbidden, and for others it is a decision that parents feel their daughters should make on their own. For me, it was simply tradition. My ears were pierced when I was little, my sisters’ ears too, my mothers, my cousins, my aunts, my friends, almost everyone female around me had their ears pierced when they were a baby. We therefore just had to decide on a time.

And it was a spur of the moment decision. We receive so many comments from strangers referring to her as a he. Does she look like a boy? I don’t think so. Or do I dress her like a boy too often? But she always has something on that is pink, so I really don’t get it! (what do you think?)

Zieyaad and I were chatting about it on Monday passed and we decided to just do it. No thinking about it, just do it.

So we went to a well-known jeweller (where basically everyone in Cape Town goes) and the staff were beyond amazing. They reassured us that it would only take a few seconds and that she would only cry because of the shock. They were friendly and entertained Ammaarah while one of the staff members made markings for where the piercings would go. All the entertainment made Princess Porschie non the wiser of what was about to happen. And then the time came….

…EEEkkkk. My nerves! My legs were jittery and I was sweating. And I had to hold her! Really? Why me?! They even had to give me a moment to just catch myself and remind myself to breathe. We had to stop Zieyaad from wanting to pierce his own ears because he wanted to share in what we thought would be her pain. We must have been the most highly strung parents who had ever come to have their daughters ears pierced in that store! They could not stop laughing at us!

And then it was over. Just like that. (relief, a huge sigh of relief!) Really, there was nothing more. No, really!

My word, the hype was definitely more intense than the actual event.  She cried from the shock of the first piercing, but the moment we hugged her she stopped. My little girl sailed through the agony of thirty seconds of ear-piercing. I am so proud of her!

So if you are fretting about when to have your little girls ears pierced (assuming that you have decided to do it already), don’t fret anymore, just do it! I promise, those nasty vaccinations are one hundred times worst!

And now Princess Porschie without a doubt looks like a girl! Don’t you agree?

Before…

Marking where the piercing would go…

Crying because of the shock…

Oh my poor baby – crocodile tears!

And then my little girl was happy! Pretty as a picture!

10 thoughts on “And then we pierced her ears…

  1. Awww, that single tear photo.

    We only plucked up the courage when my little girl was almost two and she still remembers it. In that way, it is better to get it over and done with when they are smaller.

    P.S. People also mistook her for a boy even in full pink and they all thought my son was a boy till he had a haircut last month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh man! That’s part of the reason why I wanted to do it so early, so that she doesn’t remember it later on. Lol! How can they mistake a baby all dressed in pink to be a boy?? I fail to understand! 😘😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

