A journey to motherhood – 2nd trimester

We were recently featured in the Preggie Diaries section of the Mamas and Papas magazine. It was a three part series, documenting our journey to parenthood/my journey to motherhood. This is what we had to say about our 2nd trimester…

All my life I have wanted to keep the gender of my first baby a surprise. The thought of being in the labour room and the doctor saying the words ‘it’s a girl’ or ‘it’s a boy’ when the baby pops out has been a lifelong dream.  Contrary to that, my husband, Zieyaad, has wanted to know from day one. Up until the 19th week, I had managed to get my way of keeping a secret. But then we had a scare. Whether due to major or minor complications, any scare of losing your baby is the absolute worst feeling. At the 20 week scan, I couldn’t but hold my stance anymore and we finally found out that we were a expecting a baby gir!! And from that day, we had called her ‘Princess Porschie’.

Princess Porschie has been on our minds all throughout every day. The excitement of feeling the first move within my belly, to purchasing her first dress, to purchasing the cot and planning the nursery room. How does one decide on these very many firsts of everything?? So many people will tell you that the baby will be unaware of its surroundings for the first few months and that so many of these decisions will seem trivial after your bundle of joy has arrived. But it is so difficult to accept this advice when all we want is the very best for our expectant baby girl. We have therefore taken the stance to do what makes us most happy at the moment and we are thoroughly enjoying each and every moment.

Pregnancy has come with its ups and downs during this trimester. After the scare, I was suspected to have developed gestational diabetes. Thankfully, it was only suspected. I was also hospitalised after contracting a viral infection. Thankfully again, it was only a few days of feeling really ill. The body is truly amazing. I have learnt that my body is in tune with my intuition, as my body would do everything to protect the baby first before myself, something I will always do for my soon to be baby girl. The foetal movements are becoming stronger as each day passes. I am so excited to meet this little being, whom has provided me with the unforgettable experience of feeling little butterflies turn into little pops and then turn into feelings of little arms and legs swimming about it my growing belly.

There is so much to look forward to and so much to be grateful for! We are blessed to be given the opportunity to become parents. To nurture, love and raise this little person with only the best of intentions. We can only pray and hope that we will be successful as parents, to our very special and magical Princess Porschie.

If you haven’t done so yet, have a read through my 1st trimester journey here.

our second insert in the mamas and papas magazine


a pic from our 2nd trimester

the first dress we bought her

the first dress we bought her

2 thoughts on “A journey to motherhood – 2nd trimester

  1. Pingback: May Roundup and Linky | South African Mom Blogs

  2. Pingback: A journey to motherhood – 3rd trimester | Treatmesweetlie

Leave a Reply

