Breastfeeding – is Jungle Juice effective or not?

My first real encounter with a baby was when one of my best friends gave birth to her darling little boy. She was the first of our closest to have a baby, and while she struggled with everything I went through years later, I merely watched and listened from the side.

She used to religiously drink this mixture called ‘Jungle Juice’. I wasn’t quite sure what it was, but all I knew was that it was meant to promote her milk supply. I always wondered what it tasted like, but I was too afraid to try, as for some reason I thought it was some medicated mixture of things I shouldn’t be drinking! (Now if that was not a sign of how oblivious I was to motherhood!!!).

I don’t remember everything about her motherhood, but I specifically remember her frequently saying that this Jungle Juice worked wonders for her.
Before I gave birth to Ammaarah, I obtained the recipe and purchased all the ingredients. This was on my never-ending pre-birth to do list. I knew we wouldn’t have time for anything other than baby after birth, so I tried to be as prepared as possible. Everything was ready, it was just a matter of Zieyaad putting the mixture together. (I even packed in the water bottle for storage).

Due to complications that occurred during my birth process (read about my birth story here), I struggled with breastfeeding from the first day. The wonderful army of nurses suggested I start drinking Jungle Juice, which I of course immediately started. (I am one of those moms that is wiling to try anything in the hope of making things easier).

And I drank them by the litres p. Zieyaad used to make two batches simultaneously and store them in the fridge in drinkable bottles. (He really was – and is – an amazing support to me, he tried to make everything as hassle free as possible!).

So did it work for me? Several of my readers (thank you for taking the time to read my posts!) have requested that I give feedback regarding my experience with Jungle Juice, and to answer your question honestly – I am not sure!

You see, I was my own worst enemy when it came to breastfeeding. Because I had struggled from the first day, and due to the fact that Ammaarah cried (constantly) from that day, I always believed that my breastmilk  was insufficient for her. I sometimes believe that it was the nurses whom made me believe this. They suggested I give my baby top ups of formula milk because she was still hungry. Being new parents (and of course oblivious to motherhood), we followed the advise and the top ups worked amazingly well….until a few days later when the top ups stopped working and eventually caused a vicious  cycle of never knowing whether she had fed enough! It was only 6 to 8 weeks later when I discovered that she was crying because she had gas and struggled to pass her winds,  and by that time, I had already given up on Jungle Juice. I started drinking it less and sometimes even forgot to drink it.

So to answer your question: from my personal experience, I honestly cannot be sure. I’m disappointed that I am not able to provide you a conclusive answer. But it is fact.

Everyone is unique. It must be understood that my experience could be vastly different to yours. Certain things may affect you in ways that do not affect anyone else. At the end of the day, it is all about the experience, and more importantly, learning from each of these experiences.

My opinion is that you have to at least try the recipe. You will never know for sure unless you have tried. All the ingredients are rather good for you – and it tastes quite yummy too!

Here is the recipe I used (I was able to purchase all items at my local grocery store (Pick n Pay) or pharmacy:

  • 2 litres of water
  • 1 litre of apple juice
  • 60mls Schlehen Blackthorn Berry Elixr
  • 1 sachet of Blackcurrent Rehydrate
  • 10 drops of rescue remedy per glass

For my mommy-to-be readers, I wish you all the best on the rest of your journey to motherhood!

For my mommy readers, please do share your experience by commenting below. Not only would I love to hear about it, but your experience may assist our mommies-to-be be answering one of there never-ending list of motherhood question (you have to admit, we all know that we had them too!).

All my love…

IMG_5107

IMG_5108IMG_5109

6 thoughts on “Breastfeeding – is Jungle Juice effective or not?

  1. The thing that promotes supply the best is to keep breastfeeding. The more that comes out – it will promote more and more. As soon as you top up it decreases your supply because now you aren’t stimulating as much. (My mom is a lactation consultant)

    With regard to jungle juice, it’s pretty harmless says my mom but my lactation consultant said there was too much sugar in it which didn’t help. I think the main thing is to keep drinking fluids. After she said that I ditched the apple juice and did a dilute juice instead.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

