Our ultimate braai master winning recipe – the ultimate apple and avocado salad

Heritage Day is a South African public holiday celebrated on 24 September. On this day, South Africans across the spectrum are encouraged to celebrate their culture and the diversity of their beliefs and traditions, in the wider context of a nation that belongs to all its people (Wikipedia).  And thanks to Jan Braai, Heritage Day is now also known as National Braai Day.

In honour of Heritage Day, our company held our very own version of the Ultimate Braai Master competition. With celebrity judges, which included Siphokazi Mdlankomo (the runner-up of 2014 Master Chef South Africa), this event was one that could not be missed. And so our team (being the finance reporting team) entered.

Now I am sure you must be asking yourself, ‘what do a bunch of accountants know about braaing?’. (And I am pretty sure that is what the rest of the contestants thought too!)

I have to admit, the competition was rife and the sprint to the finish line was tight. But once we took that dive to the finish line, I think it was pretty clear to everyone that we actually knew quite a lot about braaing the perfect boerewors roll. Because in the end it was our team that won first prize! Yes, I am still in as much shock as you are, but when you look at our end result, you have to admit that it looks pretty darn good!

winning recipe - apple & avo salad

winning recipe - apple and avocado salad

winning recipe - apple and avocado salad

winning recipe - apple and avocado salad

Our secret lied in our team effort and the combination of slightly melted sliced cheese, rocket leaves, chopped coriander, sweet chilli sauce and our secret (and winning) recipe, the ULTIMATE AVOCADO AND APPLE SALAD . Now I know the apple and avo combination may seem weird, but I URGE you to try it, because I can guarantee that you will not be disappointed! (Unless you are not a fan of avocado and apple of course)

And as much as I would like to claim this recipe as my own, I unfortunately cannot. The recipe was passed onto me by my sister (who is an amazing cook and baker!), whose sister passed it onto her, after someone had passed it onto her. So whom ever it is that created this recipe, know that I thank you, because braais will never be the same again. And as my brother would normally say, “you have not lived until you have tried this’!

And now it is my turn to pass the recipe onto you! I do not profess to be a professional, so my recipe unfortunately does not contain exact quantities. But this is one of those recipes where you have to continue tasting and adding until you obtain the desired taste.

I hope you enjoy it!

xxx

The Ultimate Apple and Avocado Salad

Ingredients:

  • 3 sweet red apples (peeled, cored and diced)
  • 2 ripe avocado (peeled and diced)
  • Two tablespoons of creamy mayonnaise
  • 1 level teaspoon of crushed garlic
  • Fresh chilli (chopped)
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Method:

  • Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until the avocado and mayonnaise blends into a guacamole type consistency.
  • Taste and continue to add garlic, salt, pepper and chilli until you obtain your desired taste

Serving suggestions:

  • Serve as a side dish to all braai’s
  • Serve with almost everything else! (Crackers, toast, crisps, grilled fish – trust me, you are able to add this as a side dish to almost every main course!)

PS. I do not consider myself a food blogger, but this recipe was just too good to not share! (thank you my sister!)

Leave a Reply

